The Ultimate Guide to Chianti Classico Wines

Chianti Classico is located in the middle of the Chianti region.

Chianti Classico DOCG is considered to be the highest quality wine from the Chianti region. The black rooster or Gallo Nero symbol denotes the bottle of a Chianti Classico. As per a fable, roosters were used to settle the border disputes between the provinces of Florence and Sienna.
Today, Chianti Classico DOCG is considered by many to be the highest-quality offering for Chianti.

Chianti Classico DOCG grapes usually come from the vineyards planted at higher altitudes, and they have a refreshing tartness. The flavors include violet and spice layered lush, juicy cherry. The tannins and composition increase with the quality. Instead of using new oaks, traditional large oaks are preferred as they provide better transparency to the wines.


A Chianti Classico should contain at least 80% of Sangiovese and 20% of other red grapes like Colorino, Merlot, Canaiolo Nero, Cabernet Sauvignon can be used. It is to be known that white grapes were banned since 2006.

Quality Tiers

You can choose from three different types of quality when you organic chianti wine (vino chianti biologico) wines. They are:
Annata: This is the standard wine and is aged for 12 months.
Riserva: It is aged for minimum 24 months before release.
Gran Selezione: It requires aging of minimum 36 months.


There are nine different communes for Chianti Classico evenly distributed in the provinces of Siena and Florence.

The communes of Siena Province:

Radda in Chianti
Castellina in Chianti
Gaiole in Chianti
Castelnuovo Berardenga

The communes in Florence province:

Greve in Chianti
Tavernelle Val di Pesa
San Casciano Val di Pesa
Barberino Val d’Esla


All in all, Chianti is one of the most-renowned wine types from the Tuscan villas. If you are a wine lover, you should undoubtedly try the Chianti Classico wines. Thank you for reading!